Mixes: Rhythm Passport Vol.50 – Area Boys – Future Sounds of the World

Area Boys – Future Sounds of the World

“We selected forgotten and newly imagined sounds of Pacific islands, eastern Brazil and Peru through the urban jungles of Madrid, New York, Lisbon to eventually end up halfway between San Francisco and Bamako.

We begin with slow rhythmic explorations from Nillo (of the Random Collective EP FÉKUTAI), Gu Dugong the solo-project of Giulio Fonseca and a track from the latest project from Brazilian DJ and producer Maga Bo: “Samba de Coco Raízes de Arcoverde “, a mesmerizing fusion of regional north-eastern Brazilian rhythms and sound system culture.

We continue with AIWAA ॐ (a DJ producer David Molina who based in Madrid) and a brand-new track from Dengue Dengue Dengue (off their latest EP Son de los Diablos).

We pick up speed with Novalima’s remix of Son Palenque’s “Aloito Pio” and move on to afrofuturistic heat by Max Le Daron and Bryte & Gafacci to London based Mina’s instant hit “Boing”. Producer wizard and Area Boys’ long-term favourite Uproot Andy has pushed out a new mixtape Bumper to Bumper, from that we picked a remix of an afro dancefloor classic “Wolloso” by Dollar DJ.

We end our sonic adventure with a track from Penya’s sublime debut album Super Liminal and the otherworldliness of Trio Da Kali v Kronos Quartet, a blend of delicate strings and percussive energy that amazes immediately.

The future is bright and sounds beautiful”.

View Area Boys DJs bio here

Track List:

  1. NILLO – Spirit Blong ol Bubu
  2. Go Dugong feat. Miriam García – Vidita (El Búho Remix)
  3. Samba de Coco Raízes de Arcoverde – Sabiá
  4. AIWAA – Pru Étnico (AIWAA Edit)
  5. Dengue Dengue Dengue – Flootz
  6. Son Palenque – Aloito Pio (Novalima Remix)
  7. Max Le Daron feat. Joey le Soldat & Gan Gah – Monin’Guetin (Lorenzo BITW Remix)
  8. Bryte x Gafacci – I Like Your Girlfriend
  9. Mina feat. Nané – Boing
  10. Dollar DJ – Wolosso (Uproot Andy Remix)
  11. Penya – Karachi (What Could Have Been)
  12. Trio Da Kali and Kronos Quartet – Eh Ya Ye